Disciplinary Board

When there is a question about whether a member of the clergy has been involved in misconduct, the Disciplinary Board, as described in Title IV of the Canons of the Episcopal Church, has the responsibility to investigate the matter, consider and decide whether a violation of the Canons has taken place, and discern what must be done to bring healing, reconciliation, and justice for all involved. Throughout this process, the clergy member is obligated not only to “tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the truth” as might be expected in a courtroom, but also to do all in their power to confess their faults, make amends, and work toward healing and wholeness. Therefore, the responsibility of the Disciplinary Board is not to simply proceed as if in a criminal or civil court, but rather to carefully discover the facts of the matter, then to prayerfully discern what might be done to bring about the greatest amount of healing, wholeness, and reconciliation for the faith community and the clergy member involved. 

Helpful Documents to review:

What is Title IV and what is it not?
Basic Shape of Title IV

If you have questions or concerns, please contact:
Doug Franzen, Chancellor - chancellor@episcopalmn.org
Rebecca Bernhard, Intake Officer - bernhard.rebecca@dorsey.com 

Disciplinary Board Members Serving 2018-2020

Terms Expire Following 2019 Convention (elected 2016)

L – Ms. Katrina Gadwa, St. Paul* – katrina.gadwa@gmail.com

L – Ms. Erika Friesen, St. Paul – erikafriesen@hotmail.com

P – The Rev. Larry Green, Winona – ljgreen@hbci.com

P – The Rev. Richard Swenson, Ely – rcswenson@msn.com

D – The Rev. Christopher Haack, St. Paul – spinach877@yahoo.com

Terms Expire Following 2020 Convention (elected 2017)

L – Ms. Angie Paulson, St. Paul –paulson.angie@gmail.com - President

L – Mr. James Delamater, Woodbury – jdelamater@dsbfinancialservices.com

L – Ms. Denise Stahura, St. Paul – dstahura@gmail.com

D – The Rev. Georgia Steele, Champlin – glsteele7@gmail.com

P – The Rev. Mark Kelm, Golden Valley – revkelm@comcast.net

Terms Expire Following 2021 Convention (elected 2018)

P – The Rev. Justin Chapman, Rochester* – justinpchapman@gmail.com

P – The Rev. Bill Van Oss, Duluth *– billvanoss@stpaulsduluth.org

D – The Rev. Chip Whitacre, Plymouth – chip.whitacre@gmail.com

L - Ms. Audrey Splinter, Mankato - rasplinters@gmail.com

L – Ms. Kathy Smith, White Bear Lake –  kathy1749@hotmail.com

*denotes second term