Licensed Lay Ministries

Some lay ministries in the Episcopal Church are licensed according to the Canons — the governing rules of the Church. The following roles are Licensed Lay Ministries in the Episcopal Church in Minnesota:

  • Worship Leader (formerly known as Lay Reader)
  • Preacher
  • Eucharistic Minister (formerly known as Chalice Bearer)
  • Eucharistic Visitor
  • Catechist

The Handbook for Licensed Lay Ministries contains the guidelines established by the Bishop in consultation with the Commission on Ministry for the Episcopal Church in Minnesota for licensing these ministries. A form for applying for a new license, and a form for applying for license renewal are also included in the Handbook.