Nominations for Elected Bodies

We need your help to shape the future of the Episcopal Church in Minnesota. Each year there are opportunities to step into leadership roles that allow you to engage in the big issues facing the church and our community. You can help create action that makes a difference.  


You will need to fill out and submit this Nomination Support Form to complete your application.

Online applications for elected bodies has been extended and will be taken until July 27th. Contact Karen Olson with questions (

There are several committees that provide leadership within the Episcopal Church in Minnesota (ECMN). The four primary committees (Council, Standing Committee, Trustees, and the Standing Committee) make up the Elected Bodies, which meet together 4 times per year.  In addition, committees may choose to meet more frequently, as their work dictates. Each committee has members that are elected or appointed for specific term lengths. If you're interested in learning more or serving on an elected body, please contact your Missioner for Ministry, Karen Olson at

Standing Committee 

Process: Elected at ECMN Convention
Members: 12 (6 lay, 6 clergy)
Term: 3 years

Duties: The general duties of the Standing Committee are to be a Counsel of Advice to the Bishop, and to consider consents for a parish, mission, or ECMN entity to acquire, dispose of, or encumber the real property; approve candidates for ordination to the diaconate or priesthood; and consent to the elections of and proposed consecrations of bishops in The Episcopal Church. Also, in the event there is no Bishop, the Standing Committee acts as the Ecclesiastical Authority of the Episcopal Church in Minnesota until a Bishop can be elected.


Process: Elected at ECMN Convention
Members: 9 (both lay and clergy) 
Term: 3 years

Duties: The Trustees are responsible for the financial assets, including real estate, investments, loan funds, and planned giving, of ECMN and its faith communities. The Trustees also hold title to all real and personal property for mission faith communities in ECMN. The Trustees ensure that all property and assets of the church are used and remain available for the use of all Episcopalians engaged in God’s mission.

Commission on Ministry 

Process: 3 lay, 3 clergy elected at ECMN Convention, 3 lay, 3 clergy appointed by the Bishop
Members: 12 (6 lay, 6 clergy) 
Term: 3 years

Duties: The Commission on Ministry (COM) helps to discern the present and future needs for ministry in ECMN. COM invites nominees to engage in a discernment process, and recruits and selects persons for Holy Orders.  COM guides and examines postulants and candidates for the diaconate and priesthood, in their journey to ordination.  COM works to provide continuing education of clergy and lay professionals employed in the church.

Other Elected Body

Council is not elected at Convention.  They are elected by the faith communities in their Mission Area as representatives to serve on this statewide body.  If you're interested in learning more about Council, please contact Rachel Babbitt at


Process: Elected at Mission Area Gatherings to represent a mission area on Council
Members: 28 (2 lay, 2 clergy from each of the 7 mission areas) 
Term: 3 years

Duties: Council is a body of lay and clergy representatives who oversee, develop and implement the policies, programs,and budgets of ECMN between meetings of the yearly ECMN Convention. Members are elected to represent one of the 7 mission areas of the Episcopal Church in Minnesota, and are responsible for providing leadership in their mission area and planning yearly gatherings.