ECMN at General Convention

ECMN at General Convention

General Convention of the Episcopal Church takes place July 5th-13th, 2018 in Austin, Texas. 

ECMN is sending a Deputation to engage in the discussion and decisions being made by this great gathering of the Episcopal Church. General Convention sets the tone for how the church will grow and change for the next three years.

“The General Convention is the governing body of The Episcopal Church that meets every three years. It is a bicameral legislature that includes the House of Deputies and the House of Bishops, composed of deputies and bishops from each diocese. During its triennial meeting deputies and bishops consider a wide range of important matters facing the Church. In the interim between triennial meetings, various committees, commissions, agencies, boards and task forces created by the General Convention meet to implement the decisions and carry on the work of the General Convention.”  (General Convention Website)

ECMN Deputation

In the lay Order

  • Minnie Steele
  • Sally Johnson
  • Sue Grove
  • David Holmberg


  • Sue Triebenbach


In the clerical order:

  • Devon Anderson
  • Michael Pipkin
  • Rena Turnham
  • James Wilson


  • Dana Emery
  • Rick Swenson


Follow along with their experience at For daily updates, just scroll to the bottom of the page and click 'Follow'!

Check out these recent blog posts from Devon Anderson and Sally Johnson to get a better sense of the big issues being discussed at General Convention this week.

Plus, click here to see a flow chart of how General Convention works and how decisions are made.

There are a few other places to bookmark if you want to keep up to date during General Convention:

The Deputy News

Episcopal News Service 

General Convention Media Hub (which includes a number of live-streamed meetings, plus daily briefings and re-caps!)