

# BUSINESS SUMMARY OF THE 166<sup>TH</sup> CONVENTION OF THE EPISCOPAL CHURCH IN MINNESOTA

# NOVEMBER 10-11, 2023 ST. ANDREW LUTHERAN CHURCH EDEN PRAIRIE, MINNESOTA

Revive|Restore: Love is repairing the breach

#### **ELECTIONS**

#### **Commission on Ministry**

Lay Clergy

Megan Emery Kate Maxwell

#### **Trustees**

Benji Koshy Susan Moss

# **Standing Committee**

LayClergyThomas BoePaul EhlingTony NywonyeDenise Stahura

#### Province VI Representative in the Lay Order

Minnie Steele

#### **Province VI Representative in the Clergy Order**

Rick Swenson

# CONSENT CALENDER: CANONICAL ELECTIONS, APPOINTMENTS, AND CONFIRMATIONS

Secretary of Convention (Canon 209.1)

Ms. Karen Olson

Treasurer (Canon 309.1)

Mr. Dave Holmberg

Chancellors (Canon 306.1)

Chancellor – Mr. Doug Franzen

Vice Chancellors – Ms. Rebecca Bernhard, Mr. Christopher Bowman, Mr. Robert

Butterboldt

**Disciplinary Board** (Canon 405(d))

For a three-year term ending at 2026 Convention

Mr. George Thompson, Ms. Augusta Paye, the Rev. Kate Bradtmiller, the Rev. May Thao, Ms. Erika Campbell

For a two-year vacancy term ending at 2025 Convention The Rev. Cindy Hillger

#### **Commission on Ministry**

(Canon 113.5.a) *Chair, for a first two-year term, ending 2024* The Rev. Margaret Thor

(Canon 113.4.b) *Bishop Appointments* For three-year terms, ending 2026 Dr. Judy Stack, the Rev. Bill Butcher

For two-year vacancy term, ending 2025 The Rev. Chris Boehm Carlson

#### Council

(Canon 219.2) *Vice-Chair* The Rev. Jennifer McNally

#### 2024 FINANCIAL STATEMENT OF MISSION

**ADOPTED** 

#### CANONICAL AMENDMENTS

Revisions to four canons that primarily serve to either clarify or conform to Episcopal Church canons and/or General Convention actions.

**PASSED** 

#### GENERAL CONVENTION RESOLUTIONS

The 80th General Convention, which took place in the summer of 2022, proposed three resolutions with changes to the Episcopal Church's Constitution. These proposed alterations are to be made known to each Diocesan Convention of the Episcopal Church to satisfy the reporting requirement, and were so reported. No Convention action was required.

#### **STORIES**

- Jamie Simpson: Christ Church, Woodbury
- Sally Hockinson: Trinity, Excelsior
- Sonny Thomas: St. Columba's White Earth
- Valerie Matthews: Community Educator, Repairing the Breach in North Minneapolis
- Angela Denker: Repairing the Breach Across the Political Divide

#### **OTHER**

Offering designated for outreach ministries in the Diocese of Jerusalem Honorary Canon awards to members of the Racial Justice and Healing Commission: Heidi Kim (convenor), Devon Anderson, Jackie Bernacchi, Laura Ehling, Anne Gerber, Craig Lemming, Anna Ostenso Moore, Kelsey Schuster, Tom Sinning, Edwin Swaray, Neal Thao, Bonnie Wanglie

**Bishop Whipple Crosses** to the Revs. Len and Lindsay Freeman

# ORDINATIONS, TRANSITIONS, MILESTONES, CLERGY NECROLOGY

#### **Ordained Priest in 2023**

**Bryan Bliss** 

George Favell

Sarah Hoch

Tony Hunt

Jayan Koshy

Marc Landerweer

Elizabeth Lienesch

Luis Ottley

Jay Phelan

#### Ordained Deacon in late 2022 and 2023

Kim Heise

Vicki Lambert

Chelsea Stanton

David McEachron

Wayne Pulford

#### **30-Year Priesthood Anniversaries in 2023**

Howard Anderson

Lisa Cressman

Heidi Joos

John Robertson

Lisa White Smith

#### Letters Dimissory to ECMN in the past year

Cody Maynus

Faith Perrizo

Dorothy White

Mary Hansley

#### **Clergy in New Calls**

Christ Church, Red Wing – Aaron Twait

Holy Communion, St. Peter – Chris Boehm Carlson

St. Edwards's, Wayzata – Aron Kramer

St. John's, Onigum, and St. Peter's, Cass Lake – Bill Butcher

St. John's, Mankato - Cindi Brickson

St. James, Fergus Falls – Dave Strom St. Matthew's, St. Paul – Christopher Rogers Trinity, Excelsior – Charissa Bradstreet (starting Dec. 2)

# **Congregations Closed**

Trinity, Park Rapids

# **Clergy Necrology**

Tom Eklo Graham Fenton Bonnie Holt Fred Nairn Roger Phillips Philip Ramstead Bardwell Smith

# **ECMN CONVENTION 2024**

The 167<sup>th</sup> Convention of the Episcopal Church in Minnesota will be held on November 7-9, 2024, in Bemidji.

Karen Olson, Secretary of Convention Report prepared by Susan Barksdale